Feature Interview: Sarah O’Neill (smallspaces)

Sarah O'Neill

Hello Sarah and welcome to Stylist Lab. We are so happy to have your shop featured on our blog, we have admired it for a long time.

You have a unique and very beautiful shop, can you tell us about how you came to create smallspaces, what inspired you to choose this particular approach for your shop?

Aw, thank you! Having made a conscious decision to live in a tiny apartment, I struggled to find furniture that would enhance this lifestyle. I could see a growing trend towards smaller urban dwellings so I knew this would be a growth sector in the market. I’d recently discovered the Japanese philosophy of wabi-sabi, so I did a quick trip to Japan to learn more. The highlight of my trip was the discovery of wonderful little shops in out-of-the-way places that were obviously set up with little money, though with an abundance of creativity and heart.

Can you tell us a little more about your design philosophy? You seem to have a mix of Scandinavian and Japanese influences.

While I was in Japan, I was intrigued by the similarity of my favourite Japanese design aesthetic to contemporary Scandinavian design. There’s a simple honesty I see in both. The commonality is borne of an appreciation and celebration of organic materials (wood, metal, paper etc) and a tradition of fine craftsmanship.

I guess if I have a philosophy, it’s my interpretation of wabi-sabi; finding beauty in impermanence and imperfection; to be mindful of each possession and give it the space to speak; that nothing is too small or practical to be created and owned with care.

Do you have a design background and what work were you doing before you opened smallspaces?

I’ve always worked in the design industries, first fashion then interiors. I’ve done everything from sales and marketing management to visual merchandising and event styling.

Small Spaces Store

Can you tell us about the layout of the store and how you go about combining elements to make it so appealing?

As I had limited capital, and everyone telling me it was “the worst time EVER to set up a retail business”, I kept the fit-out very simple. Just stripped the shop and painted it white and filled it with stock instead of fixtures. My buying criteria has always been, would I have it in my home? My creative outlet is visual merchandising, constantly moving the stock around so each piece can be seen and ‘heard’.

What sort of criteria do you have for the artists and designers whose work you have in the shop?

Product selection for smallspaces is very intuitive. There does seem to be a common theme of integrity and originality. Almost all the artists and designers whose work I carry are professionals. They have studied their medium through college or apprenticeships and have an ongoing commitment to their practice.

How do you approach colour in your store?

I love colour, though as the shop is small, I tend to restrict it to highlights, art, flowers and objects.

You have a beautiful range of textiles, can you tell us a little about them?

The textiles are predominantly by the extraordinary Alison Fraser of Slab+Slub. I adore Alison’s work as there’s something so raw and free about it. She has been shibori dying for 10 years and is very influenced by both the character of the natural textiles she uses and the alchemy of the dying process. These same qualities and influences are also evident in her ceramic work. Her work reminds me of abstract art in her artful execution of apparent organic simplicity.

What helpful tips and hints do could help our readers to create interiors similar to smallspaces for themselves?

My best advice is always to only buy pieces you REALLY love. If you listen to your intuition everything will work together. Keep it simple, it’s better for your head wallet and the environment if you have fewer pieces of a quality and design that will last rather than a house full of ‘stuff’ you are ambivalent about.

Thank you so much. Can we drop by to see you and pat Bunny?

Of course! Bunny is always up for a little love fest xs

Connect with smallspaces:

Facebook | Instagram | Website

Leave a comment